Suncoast Connector

Saving Special Places • Building Better Communities

Jefferson to Citrus County

New Information

NEW!  1000 Friends has prepared a series of detailed recommendations it is asking the M-CORES task forces to incorporate at its upcoming meetings.  Check out the recommendations and cover letter and urge task force members to incorporate them.

Please participate in the upcoming FDOT M-CORES Task Force Meetings and Open Houses:

FDOT has announced plans for the August task force meetings and open house, described below.  Visit the FDOT M-CORES website to check for further updates.

July 20, 2020 — 1000 Friends of Florida M-CORES recommendations and cover letter

June 2, 2020 — 1000 Friends of Florida Statement on Broadband, Economic Development and M-CORES


Part of the M-CORES project, the Suncoast Connector is planned to extend 150 miles from Jefferson to Citrus County with the planning process impacting eight predominantly rural counties: Citrus, Dixie, Gilchrist, Jefferson, Lafayette, Levy, Madison, and Taylor. Florida Department of Transportation District 2 Secretary Greg Evans is chairing the task force with Jason Peters serving as co-chair.

Also involved in the planning process are representatives of the Tampa Bay, North Central and Apalachee Regional Planning Councils (RPCs), the Northwest Florida, Suwannee River and Southwest Florida Water Management Districts (WMDs), the Hernando/Citrus and Capital Regional Metropolitan Planning Organizations (MPOs), representatives of the counties and some municipalities and others. Former Policy and Planning Director Thomas Hawkins represents 1000 Friends of Florida on the Task Force.  More information on each of these entities is included below.

SB 7068 establishes a task force for each of the three corridors, including the Suncoast Connector. In addition to general task force responsibilities outlined in SB 7068, the legislation also specifies that the Suncoast Connector Corridor Task Force shall also:

“…evaluate design features and the need for acquisition of state conservation lands that mitigate the impacts of project construction within the respective corridors on:

• The water quality and quantity of springs, rivers, and aquifer recharge areas;

• Agricultural land uses;

• Wildlife habitat.”

Suncoast Connector Map

Suncoast Corridor Resources


Visit FDOT’s Suncoast page for list of current Task Force Members

FDOT District Offices:
Task Force Chair: Northeast Florida District 2 Secretary Greg Evans, 386-961-7800

Main Office: 1109 South Marion Avenue, Lake City, Florida 32025-5874, (800) 749-2967

Task Force Co-Chair: Northwest Florida District 3 Secretary Phillip Gainer, 850-330-1200

Main Office: 1074 Highway 90, Chipley, Florida 32428-0607, (888) 638-0250

Metropolitan Planning Organizations (Due to the rural nature of these counties, many do not have MPOs):

Capital Region TPA (Jefferson County)

Hernando-Citrus MPO

Water Management Districts:

Northwest Florida Water Management District (western half of Jefferson County)

Suwannee River Water Management District (Dixie, Gilchrist, Lafayette, Taylor, Union and portions of Jefferson & Levy Counties)

Southwest Florida Water Management District (Citrus and part of Levy County)

Local Government Comprehensive Plans for Impacted Counties:

Citrus County Comprehensive Plan

Dixie County Comprehensive Plan (2011)

Gilchrist County Comprehensive Plan (2013) — No longer available online

Jefferson County Comprehensive Plan, Future Land Use Map, Land Development Code (2015)

Lafayette County Comprehensive Plan — Not available online

Levy County Comprehensive Plan — Not available online

Levy County Springs Protection Element, Springs Protection Zone Map

Madison 2035 Comprehensive Plan

Taylor County Comprehensive Plan, FLUM, Transportation and Conservation Maps, Data and Analysis,


Regional Planning Councils (RPCs):

Tampa Bay Regional Planning Council (Citrus County)

North Central Florida Regional Planning Council (Dixie, Gilchrist, Lafayette, Levy, & Taylor Counties)

Apalachee Regional Planning Council (Jefferson County)